Seekin' My World

Brenda's wanderings and wishings

ATC Bobcat 2015 April 25, 2015

Filed under: Waiting for the ATC — Sierrashadow @ 9:34 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

So we finally pulled the trigger and ordered our Bobcat for the Toyota Tacoma. So I decided to resurrect this old blog from 2006. Deleted the few teaching posts because I am retiring at the end of this school year. New focus, new directions. The title still works well, maybe even better.

The guys at ATC have been wonderful to work with. We really struggled with the decision to go with a dinette or the couch. The couch won out. It just has so much more storage space and doesn’t poke out into the cabin as much, yet makes into a comfortable bed. That was the selling point, comfy for a visitor or myself if I don’t want to “pop-up” for whatever reason. I was stuck on the dinette because we like to play cards and Rummicub across from each other. But we are getting a small bench seat on the driver’s side with a 2″ cushion. For the short term that will be enough to allow face to face seating.

Speaking of that small bench seat, I have to shout out to this website: http://travelswithrockythedog.blogspot.com/2012/06/our-new-camper.html and the Wander the West forum members. They have been very informative and helpful making this momentous decision. I showed the ATC guys a picture of exactly what I was expecting the driver’s side to look like based on the above website. I am hoping that makes for fewer surprises.

We opted not to get the ATC table for now. And then at a yard sale, there was an ironing board that “clicked” in my brain. Narrow and long like the couch and cabin, yet lightweight, adjustable height, and able to be taken outside. So for two bucks we are going to try that first.

Because the Tacoma is a wimpy truck, I have to keep the weight down. And we didn’t want to hassle winterizing. So no water, no indoor cooking built in. Just a comfortable bed, a heater, and a bug free place.

I have been playing with dimensions and ideas for storage. It seems like forever to wait until June for the camper, but considering I still have a month left of teaching, probably best if I don’t get too distracted.

 

Leave a Reply

