Seekin' My World

Brenda's wanderings and wishings

Potty Box (Pretty Personal Revelations) August 7, 2015

Filed under: curtains and steps,Hygiene,Modifications — Sierrashadow @ 6:50 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I never wanted a “PortaPotty” so ATC built my couch with as much storage as possible. I was using a small pitcher and Reliance Poo Powder, but squatting over it became problematic.

IMG_2211

I am discovering I am not as young as I used to be. So I bought a tote at Wal-Mart and cut a hole in the top. It is a comfortable seating height. I use a larger pitcher, lined with a baggie inside. The latches of the box keep things securely aligned.

Potty box inside Potty box

I couldn’t find any Poo Powder although I stopped at nearly every Wal-Mart, Fred Meyers, Cabella’s, Big 5 and Bass Pro from Seattle to Sacramento. I thought about using a diaper since that is legal to put in any trashcan. I decided to use the adult incontinence pads – Maximum flow. It fits in the baggie lined (Glad Twist Tie Gallon) pitcher well and contains the overnight amount needed for me. The rest of the box is filled with extra Lynx Lifters freeing up other storage areas and keeping the box lightweight and plastic in case of spillage. It fits perfectly in the space next to the ice chest and cook kit or in my aisle.

side load 1privacy curtain

Also, I started using a Bali Scarf as my rear curtain. Two small binder clips on the aluminum frame of the lifter panel keep it up.

And I installed a paper towel holder. Two pieces of hook velcro with a mini grommet punched in it. Then string a shoestring through the grommets and the roll. It hangs on the fuzzy side of the velcro installed by ATC for the All Weather Pack. I can move it to many places in the rig based on need.

IMG_2215Turtle and towels

Edit after one year of use: I rarely ever use the incontinence supplies any more. I found if you are close enough to civilization for a trash can, you are probably close enough for at least a porta-potty. I still use the bag within the pitcher inside the box with a lid system, but just bag up the liquid on a daily basis. I knot it and carry it out in a nylon dry bag with a small folding scissors and a small zip lock baggie into the rest room. I cut the bag carefully above the liquid below the knot at least an inch leaving a handle at the knot, grab the opposite lower corner, tilt it diagonally to drain, put the empty disgusting baggie into the zip sandwich baggie and zip it. Place that into the trash. By using a dark colored dry bag, the kind you roll the top on and clip the sides together forming a handle, no one can see in. It looks a little like a purse. I then roll the dry bag up with the scissors inside and put it in my pocket. Needless to say is it a dry bag dedicated to only that purpose.

In a year, I have never needed to do #2. That will be another adventure.

I also just noticed the turtle stool. It worked great, but we needed it for another purpose around the house. I grabbed a six pack mini ice chest that we had. It is the perfect size, the top is a bit “spongier” feeling but supportive enough. And it is much easier to put stuff in than slipping it under the stool. Plus the side legs of the stool slipped into the crack of the couch and the ice chest doesn’t. Plus if I want to take a picnic lunch…

 

Leave a Reply

