Seekin' My World

Brenda's wanderings and wishings

Little 395 trip September 28, 2015

Filed under: Bobcat travels,Destinations — Sierrashadow @ 3:59 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I love going to the Millpond Music Festival in Bishop every year. This year I decided to camp there since I had the rig. IMG_2360 IMG_2361

I left a couple days early and stayed at Robinson Creek, near Twin Lakes, just outside of Bridgeport. I enjoyed poking in to each of the canyons, Virginia, Lundy, and stayed at Oh Ridge on June Lake Loop. I wasn’t good at taking pictures.

At the festival, I forgot to take pictures of the site. It was stacked like cordwood. It was different to be sharing the rig with another person. I thought we could both be on the queen bed, but she said she would feel claustrophobic up there. She tried the couch but felt like she was going to break it, and so she ended up sleeping on the floor. A little crowded in the aisle, but she liked it best.

I loved seeing my favorite Canadian artists, Dave Gunning and David Myles, who both rocked the house. The nicest surprise was Cafe Musique from San Luis Obispo. They were AMAZING!

IMG_2362

Then I crossed back over 120 to take a watercolor class in Yosemite. It was a perfect week, much less smokey than expected. The little storm we had the week before cleared out the smoke from the Butte and Rough fires. I was planning to stay with my nephew who was in Yosemite camping for the week. He had threatened to cancel due to smoke, so I got on recreation.gov and found a site for the single night I needed. I guess other people got scared off by the smoke, too. But he ended up going with some buds. It was nice of him to invite his aged auntie to dinner. He cooked a BBQ tri-tip on the pathetic grill provided, and mashed potatoes. Good job Tony!

I will confess, twice I drove off without latching the 6 latches. I guess I am getting careless. Both times I realized it within a mile and wasn’t going very fast, but it is scary to pull over and see that your front has lifted up from the air pressure. I almost went over Sonora Pass that way. I need to come up with a reminder system so I don’t do that again. Something like the key ring I put around the propane tank valve that I take off when I open it. I put the key ring on the gear shift so I notice it before driving off and close the valve.

the-hillman-group-spiral-wrist-band-plastic-key-ring_2108623

 

One Response to “Little 395 trip”

  1. ski3pin Says:

    395, watercolor class in Yosemite, Millpond Festival; it sure looks like a wonderful week!


Leave a Reply

