Seekin' My World

Brenda's wanderings and wishings

Clark Fork (Not Clark’s) Highway 108 August 15, 2016

Filed under: Bobcat travels,Destinations,Modifications,Solar panels — Sierrashadow @ 5:12 am
Tags: , , ,

I had never noticed that it is not possessive. It is almost hard to say it without the s on the end. Anyway, I needed a quick get away in my  C.O.W. (Cabin on Wheels) to escape the heat. This summer had a series of trips with family and friends that didn’t involve using the camper. I did enjoy pup tent camping again when we went to Arkansas, but the ground got pretty old after just a few days, even with the 3.5″ REI pad. I like the creature comforts that the camper provides.

28959691856_6e95523d88_n

This was the first trip that used the solar panel, even though I probably could have gotten away without it for just the one night. I devised a good transport system. The Tacoma has loops on the seat bottoms to lift for storage underneath. I hooked a bungie through this loop and then up around the pole for the headrest. It didn’t budge at all.

28375220773_9d49bfbc0c_n      28375211973_a72d380054_n

I had forgotten that Clark Fork has more than the usual campground cacophony. In addition to the college kids up late laughing around the campfire, there was a herd of cattle in the adjoining meadow with cow bells. They all have a similar pitch, but with slight variations. Loud near sundown, but settling down to faint all night. Actually it is kind of relaxing.

I went in to check out a new campground I heard about near Beardsley Reservoir. I almost don’t want to share since it is such a gem. TeleLi puLaya (Black Oak)  http://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/stanislaus/recreation/camping-cabins/recarea/?recid=80290&actid=29 has 20 sites and opened in 2014. Several of the sites sit right on the edge of the canyon and have fabulous views. I didn’t get pictures, but the weblink has nice ones. I also checked out the Beardsley campground across the dam, but they are pretty crammed together and don’t have lake access, not my style. But since I was down there I headed over to the day use area and had a picnic lunch and read my book for a while. Lots of families enjoying the lake, but way calmer than Pinecrest would have been. I refuse to go to Pinecrest between Memorial Day and Labor Day.

28375231343_0058e4d21a_n     28959710596_c4ecef3a0b_n

One full year of retirement and owning my ATC Bobcat. As my friends get ready to begin another year, I sure don’t miss the stress I see in their faces. I am looking forward to the start of the school year so the campgrounds will be quiet and available again.

 

One Response to “Clark Fork (Not Clark’s) Highway 108”

  1. ski3pin Says:

    How wonderful, a retired teacher with an All Terrain Camper! Great trip and area!


Leave a Reply

