Seekin' My World

Brenda's wanderings and wishings

Where’s Waldo September 22, 2016

Filed under: Bobcat travels,Festival camping,Solar panels — Sierrashadow @ 10:37 pm
Tags: , , ,

Kind of hard to find me, huh?

img_4473

This is what Millpond festival camping is all about. At least I had great neighbors.

img_4475

And the view out the door was spectacular.

img_4478

And this is a pretty incredible setting for a music festival.

img_4487

Until… Oh-oh!

img_4491

and…

img_4492

So on the way home I stopped along the side of the road and watched the air attack. The loop times for the big pink drops were well over 45 minutes. I think they were coming from somewhere near Fresno and this was between Mammoth and June Lake. I am very grateful that I live so close to Columbia Air Attack Base since I live in the urban interface. When we had a fire a few miles away last year, they were making drops on a 15 minute interval and got it knocked down quickly. It is so fascinating to see the choreography between the helicopters and planes jockeying for position. Everyone cleared out when the big guys came in.

img_4510

I was headed over to Yosemite for an art class. I was camped in the deep shadow of Glacier Point (the best sites) but needed the sun for solar charging. So I set the solar panels up in the picnic ground daily. I used the jumbo pool noodles to pad the roof of the ATC cut to fit the inside of the solar frame and not fall out.

img_4570

and ran a steel cable from the tow loops to the frame of the panel and padlocked it to the frame.

img_4572

Then I coiled the cables and steel cable and bungied it to the tailgate latch point, so people wouldn’t snag on it. My local hardware store was great about making me a cable with two loops on the end since I don’t have the crimping tool necessary. $16 bucks is pretty cheap insurance against casual theft. Anyone with decent tools could get it, but if they want it that bad…

img_4573

I think in the near future we will get the panel attached to the roof. This schlepping it around isn’t fun. But I was able to do this in less than 5 minutes, so it wasn’t too bad.

 

2 Responses to “Where’s Waldo”

  1. ski3pin Says:

    That looked like fun! Thanks for sharing your trip. We’ll get to the Millpond Festival one of these years. And you topped the trip off with an art class in Yosemite? Now that had to be good!


Leave a Reply

